Skip to main content
EU Urban Mobility Observatory
News article18 May 2020

SUMP Award 2020 and first ever EU Urban Road Safety Award winners announced!

Brussels Capital Region, Belgium – winner of the 8th Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP)
Brussels Capital Region has set itself clear and ambitious sustainable mobility goals, which include having zero road traffic deaths by 2030, restricting car usage, reducing the speed limit to 30 kilometres per hour by 2021, and increasing the number of pedestrianised zones. The jury was particularly impressed by its approach to reaching these goals, which sees the city as an ‘ecosystem’. The city’s achievements are underpinned by strong stakeholder outreach, impressive citizen participation, and the implementation of “superblocks”, an innovative urban planning concept.
The other finalists are Kaunas (Lithuania) and Wrocław (Poland). For more information about the awards and the 2020 finalists, visit: 8th SUMP Award - Cities in the Spotlight.

A series of videos have been produced to showcase the measures implemented by the cities;

Pontevedra, Spain – were announced as winners of the first EU Urban Road Safety Award by Matthew Baldwin, Deputy Director-General for Mobility and Transport, Coordinator for Road Safety and Sustainable Mobility for the European Commission.

Pontevedra reduced road fatalities in the city consistently since 1999, impressively achieving zero road deaths between 2011 and 2018. A host of measures ensure that safety and sustainability go hand-in-hand. The city used a clear and careful monitoring strategy to identify which policies are effective and which need to be updated, resulting in increased active mobility, such as walking and cycling: In Pontevedra, 80% of children aged 6-12 walk to school by themselves. The jury was impressed by Pontevedra’s use of a broad array of measures, including reducing speed limits to 10-30 km/h and creating more public spaces that are attractive for pedestrians.

The other finalists are Jaworzno (Poland) and Ordu (Turkey).

For more information - see the official European Commission Press Release issued 18 May 2020.


Publication date
18 May 2020
Monitoring and evaluation