Skip to main content
EU Urban Mobility Observatory
News article14 February 2022Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport3 min read

The finalists of the four sustainable urban mobility awards have been announced

The nominees for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards, Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP Award) and the EU Urban Road Safety Award have been announced.

All awards are presented in recognition of remarkable activities conducted in 2021. The two EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards showcase smaller and larger municipalities that successfully promoted sustainable urban mobility during the week of 16-22 September; the SUMP Award rewards excellence in sustainable urban mobility planning; and the EU Urban Road Safety Award celebrates outstanding road safety measures. The annual theme for all awards was ‘Safe and Healthy with Sustainable Mobility’.

The shortlisted cities were selected by an independent panel of mobility and transport experts, and the four winners will be crowned during an online award ceremony on 28 March 2022 at 15.00 CET. For more information and to attend the ceremony, click here.

In addition, interested participants – from city planners to mobility experts to local coordinators and more – are invited to attend an online sustainable urban mobility planning workshop organised by the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Secretariat on 28 March from 10.00-13.00 CET. To register, click here.



The nominees for larger municipalities (more than 100,000 inhabitants) are:

  • Amadora (Portugal) – for the integration of all age groups at sustainable mobility events - such as cycling tours, electric vehicle tests and a dialogue organised with young environmental reporters – and the use of strategic promotional partnerships with local retailers;
  • Kassel (Germany) – for organising creative activities during the main event week, like a treasure hunt for campaign mascots throughout the city and more involvement of children in sustainable mobility through walking and cycling tours;
  • Lüleburgaz (Turkey) – for highlighting the connection between health and sustainable, active mobility through dialogues with doctors specialised in neurology, psychology and cardiology, and by making pavements more accessible, and more.

The nominees for smaller municipalities (less than 100,000 inhabitants) are:

  • Alimos (Greece) – for its comprehensive programme of activities that meaningfully engaged people and local associations throughout the main event week from 16-22 September, including an interactive theatrical interpretation of the ‘history of the bicycle’ and the transformation of public transport stations into fun activity spaces;
  • Miajadas (Spain) – for its strong focus on the creation of safe pathways to school, cycling networks and improved pedestrian mobility, including the permanent reallocation of road space and more visible signage for vehicles and pedestrians;  
  • Valongo (Portugal) – for its extensive variety of permanent measures and activities that integrate public opinion and for a multi-modal approach, including the creation of attractive pedestrian areas and new and improved wheelchair ramps throughout the city.


10th Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP Award)

The nominees for the 10th SUMP Award are:

  • Madrid (Spain) – for cross-cutting cooperation with the health sector to develop plans for active travel modes and a broad mix of multi-modality initiatives, including cleaner vehicles and the city’s role as a pilot ‘30km per hour city’;
  • Mitrovica South (Kosovo) – for planning a strategy that will leave its citizens ‘free from fear’ to walk, cycle and interact safely in public spaces through accident prevention measures, such as a parking management plan and improved public transport options;
  • Tampere (Finland) – for focusing on the essential role of health and safety in sustainable urban mobility, including initiatives for more vulnerable groups as well as interlinking health, equality, the environment and poverty by highlighting the role of mobility within quality urban spaces.


EU Urban Road Safety Award

The nominees for the EU Urban Road Safety Award 2021 are:

  • Florence (Italy) – for showcasing the importance of real-time data in reducing dangerous circumstances on urban roads. The city’s accident monitoring and analysis system includes geo-referencing and road characteristics, and led to a significant reduction in road casualties;
  • Rethymno (Greece) – for balancing the city’s role as a major tourist destination with the needs of local residents by designing mobility options that improve accessibility and reduce road accidents through a focus on active mobility and improved public transport;
  • Warsaw (Poland) – for placing pedestrians front and centre with an ambitious Road Safety Audit - an innovative study taking place over the course of five years - to identify strategies and recommendations for urgent and long-term improvements.

The juries


  • Charlotte Van Hek, International Association of Public Transport (UITP)
  • Matteo Barisione, European Public Health Alliance (EPHA)
  • Philip Amaral, European Cyclists' Federation (ECF)
  • Robert Pressl, Mobility Expert

10th SUMP Award:

  • Graziella Jost, European Transport Safety Council (ETSC)
  • Dr. Adrian Davis, Edinburgh Napier University
  • Claus Köllinger, Mobility & Transport Consultant

EU Urban Road Safety Award:

  • Filippo Randi, European Federation of Road Traffic Victims (FEVR)
  • Ellen Townsend, European Transport Safety Council (ETSC)
  • Geert van Waeg, International Federation of Pedestrians (IFP)

For more information on the campaign, visit



Publication date
14 February 2022
Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport
  • Public and stakeholder involvement
  • Urban mobility planning
  • Europe-wide