Skip to main content
EU Urban Mobility Observatory
News article6 March 20203 min read

European Commission announces sustainable mobility award nominees

The finalists of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards, the Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP Award) and the first EU Urban Road Safety Award were revealed today.

All awards recognise remarkable activities carried out in 2019. The EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards showcase local authorities making a significant effort to promote sustainable urban mobility during the focal week; the SUMP Award recognises excellence in sustainable urban mobility planning, and the Road Safety Award celebrates outstanding road safety measures. The annual theme for all awards was safe walking and cycling. Please note that the previously planned awards ceremony has been cancelled - all of the sustainable urban mobility award winners are now due to be announced in May via social media.


The finalists for the award for larger municipalities are:

  • Kruševac (Serbia);
  • Rethymno (Greece);
  • Wrocław (Poland).

The jury was impressed by:

  • Kruševac’s wide programme of activities, underpinned by strong citizen participation, which saw the redesign of public spaces, removal of parking places, and the creation of urban parks;
  • Rethymno’s use of communication activities to engage local residents in discussions on air quality, renewable energy and road safety;
  • Wrocław’s strong focus on the week’s theme of safe walking and cycling, which was promoted through engaging and informative events.

The finalists for the award for smaller municipalities (less than 50 000 inhabitants) are:

  • Alfândega da Fé (Portugal);
  • Karditsa (Greece);
  • Paide (Estonia).

The jury was impressed by:

  • Alfândega da Fé’s diverse and comprehensive activities, making streets more accessible to pedestrians and cyclists;
  • Karditsa’s use of promotional materials and partnerships to support sustainable mobility;
  • Paide’s use of local communication channels and involvement of local politicians.

8th SUMP Award

The finalists for the sustainable urban mobility planning award are:

  • Brussels (Belgium);
  • Kaunas (Lithuania);
  • Wrocław (Poland).

The jury was impressed by:

  • Brussels’ policy-driven vision, which is built upon impressive citizen participation, stakeholder outreach, and an understanding of the city as an ecosystem;
  • Kaunas’ well thought out and progressive approach to sustainable mobility planning, recognising the role of enforcement in making the plan a reality;
  • Wrocław’s integrated, holistic, and innovative approach to sustainable mobility planning, which is bolstered by strong neighbourhood planning and citizen engagement.

EU Urban Road Safety Award

In addition, for the first time, the Urban Road Safety Award celebrates outstanding and innovative achievements by local authorities in the area of road safety.

The finalists are:

  • Jaworzno (Poland);
  • Ordu (Turkey);
  • Pontevedra (Spain).

The jury praised in particular:

  • Jaworzno’s action to reduce speed limits, increase the number of public transport users, and involve local residents in the design of renovated streets;
  • Ordu’s courageous decision to pedestrianise the busiest parts of the city, remove heavy car traffic from the city centre, and create new bicycle routes;
  • Pontevedra’s effective and sustained reduction in the number of road fatalities and injuries, its clear monitoring strategy, and its focus on active mobility, such as walking and cycling.

All shortlisted cities were selected by an independent panel of mobility and transport experts, the four winners will be announced in May via social media channels. 

The juries


  • Samantha Clark, International Association Public Transport (UITP);
  • Freya de Muynck, Traject mobility management;
  • Niccolò Panozzo, European Cyclists' Federation (ECF);
  • Robert Pressl, FGM-AMOR.

8th SUMP Award jury:

  • Fabian Küster, European Cyclists’ Federation (ECF);
  • Siegfried Rupprecht, Rupprecht Consult;
  • Bronwen Thornton, Walk21.

EU Urban Road Safety Award Jury:

  • Antonio Avenoso, European Transport Safety Council (ETSC);
  • Jeannot Mersch, European Federation of Road Traffic Victims (FEVR);
  • Geert Van Waeg, International Federation of Pedestrians.


The EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK campaign runs runs from 16-22 September each year, providing towns and cities with an opportunity to test out sustainable transport alternatives. By encouraging individuals to choose sustainable transport modes such as walking and cycling, we can lower our carbon emissions, improve air quality, and make our urban areas more pleasant places to live and work.

In 2019, over 3 100 towns and cities registered to participate in the campaign, marking it as the most successful year to date.

For more information on the finalists, click the link below:

Press release issued on 27 February 2020 by Robert Morrow.



Publication date
6 March 2020
  • Monitoring and evaluation
  • Europe-wide