Skip to main content
EU Urban Mobility Observatory
News article1 March 2019

EMW and Sustainable Mobility Award Nominees Announced

The European Commission this week announced the finalists of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards and the Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP).

The EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards showcase local authorities that demonstrate significant efforts in promoting sustainable urban mobility, while the SUMP Award recognises outstanding sustainable urban mobility planning.

The finalists for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2018 for larger municipalities are:

  • Gdynia (Poland) for a strong programme of activities promoting the use of public transport 
  • Lisbon (Portugal) for effective communication efforts reaching both residents and visitors and a strong vision for a more sustainable mobility culture
  • Palma (Spain) for holding two Car-Free Days to highlight the urban space that could be gained without vehicles

The finalists for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2018 for smaller municipalities (less than 50,000 inhabitants) are:

  • Karditsa (Greece) for activities aimed at children and disabled people as well as promoting the health and safety benefits of sustainable transport
  • Lindau (Germany) for a strong focus on multimodality, the 2018 annual theme, and for a clever mixture of educational and entertaining activities
  • Oliveira do Bairro (Portugal) for permanent measures and strong partnerships with local stakeholders

The 7th SUMP Award focused on multimodality – the use of different modes of transport during the same journey or for different trips, for both goods and passengers.

The 7th SUMP Award finalists are:

  • Basel (Switzerland) demonstrated an outstanding approach to managing cross-border issues with France and Germany as well as their approach to finance and investment
  • Dresden (Germany) achieved - or exceeded most SUMP objectives and has managed to decrease car model share
  • Greater Manchester (United Kingdom) followed an excellent spatial approach, demonstrated ambitious modal-share goals and integrated new technologies

All shortlisted cities were selected by an independent panel of mobility and transport experts. The three winners will be announced at a ceremony in Brussels (Belgium) on 21 March 2019. Commissioner Violeta Bulc, responsible for Transport, and Jürgen Müller, Head of Cabinet for Karmenu Vella, the Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, will present the awards to the winning towns and cities.



Publication date
1 March 2019